Thin Skins

I’m starting to see something over and over again.

Students who feel entitled to lecture their professors on the quality of the feedback they get, that it’s not positive enough.  Students who simply can’t handle being told that their work was an incoherent mess (this is a real example, from a guy who then went on to remakr that it was no wonder I’m rated so poorly online, as if I would actually alter my class based on a ratemyprofessor rating).

It’s one thing not to be an asshole.  And BOY HOWDY can I be an asshole. (I don’t know what that means, actually, it’s a Kansanism I picked up of a friend down here.  If you’re Boy Howdy, I apologize)  But it’s quite another thing to be so fragile that you can’t handle even medium-weight feedback.  Methinks something went wrong with all that self-esteem training.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yeah, I can empathize with that. I have the luxury of being able to yell at people and then tell them to shut their mouths as THEIR input is not needed, required or wanted (privates in trouble or Lieutenants in trouble only though). This is one reason why I can’t be a teacher, I don’t think I can break the habit and that would get me canned.

    Reply
  2. Fortunately, the administration here backs teachers up — I know several where the students are always right, no matter how wrong they really are. But telling somebody to man up and improve their work… that’s considered harsh now, apparently!

    Reply
  3. Andrew Reyna

     /  May 3, 2010

    I’ve never though of a better (maybe the only appropriate) time to bring out the whole “in real world” lecture.

    Reply
  4. blackpine

     /  May 7, 2010

    I dunno. You rate pretty well. Not easy, but high marks for clear and helpful.

    Take a look.

    http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/ShowRatings.jsp?tid=990521&page=3

    I was going to drift over and flame people. Then I saw that people liked you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,556 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
