Why FEDEX rocks

There’s a district sales manager somewhere working for Fedex (I know where, but I’ll let that sit) with a serious heart problem, hospitalized, and they want to fly the dude up to the Mayo Clinic to save his life.

The insurance guys (I know who these people are, too, but they have lawyers, so I ain’t sayin’ ) keep dragging their feet and basically saying “why are you guys wanting to bother with this?”

So as this rolled up the pipe, before it even made the upper-executive level, they decided they’re going to use their CORPORATE JET to save this man’s life.

THAT

is why Fedex rocks:  they know that people come first.  This is the company where the executives cut their own pay rather than lay people off.

When I worked for Bank of America, if I’d had a problem like this, they’d have already been hiring my replacement by now.  Because who comes first at Bank of America?  Upper-level executives do, and those guys and gals could give two shits for the people who work for them.  The same goes with a significant number of companies I temped for, where it was obvious that anybody who wasn’t within four rungs of the top job was simply a widget to be used and replaced at will.

I don’t work for these guys:  I’m a history professor.  But I would in a heartbeat if they decided they needed my skills, and I’d do so proudly.

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Bethany

     /  August 27, 2009

    Funny to think how even in the 21st century, a basic qualification to work for some companies is still two hands & a heartbeat (on the whole you are expendable). I am glad to know that some companies still treat their employees well.

    Reply
  2. drteine

     /  August 28, 2009

    Corporate/organizational culture does make a very big difference, and it’s good to be in one of those companies. My last company was Capital “E” Evil, but now where I work is great which inspires company loyalty, better productivity, and a desire to see the organization succeed.

    So I’m glad again that I give my business to FedEx.

    Reply
  3. convivialdingo

     /  August 29, 2009

    I have nothing but good things to say about FedEx. When we were helping with the search for a friend’s son – they donated & discounted hundreds of sign copies. I didn’t even ask for it… they saw my copy and asked if it was a real situation. Glad to do business with them – though my business is not much 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,665 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
