Hired!

Not the mst3k version, though.

It’s not the golden ring, but it’s a paycheck.  Keeping my resume up to date and looking for actual opportunities rather than dead-ends, but I’m not going to bitch in a 10%+ unemployment context.

The reality:  I was hired on an emergency basis, b/c the administration came back and said “this was not a diverse applicant pool,” BUT it’s too late in the summer to re-do the interview process.  The Dean was visibly unhappy to have to offer me the gig, and it’s very clear that my chances of obtaining a full-time position are miniscule-at-best.  It’s pretty much going to stay that way, b/c almost everybody else who’s teaching already has tenure (two folks got it last year), which means that if they’re going to diversify the department, it has to be in the job slot I’d be competing for.

So the administration doesn’t like that I’m there at all, but they can’t do a thing about it, because the department keep sending me up as their #1 recommendation.  Next spring will be interesting, and I won’t be travelling at Christmas — those funds will need to be saved up for a near-guaranteed unemployment or low/mid adjunct-pay situation for next summer.

On the plus side, I have one distance-learning course made and done, which has the advantage that even after I leave, I can pull in ~400/month as an adjunct no matter where I am (even in Budapest) for online work that’s asynchronous and can be done whenever in the day that I’m free.  Not shabby.  I’m seriously inclined to see whether I could market myself out that way to a couple of other school districts — if so, it’d be a really nice second job to have.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. convivialdingo

     /  July 8, 2009

    Congrats!! Hopefully your “academic bling” will continue to give you an edge on hiring policies.

    Reply
  2. Bethany

     /  July 8, 2009

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  3. drteine

     /  July 8, 2009

    That sketch from MST3K is a classic, thanks for reminding me about it.
    Going to your job post I’m very glad to hear it, but you now have something else on your side if you want it – a proven track record that you’ve been the best candidate meaning that if you wanted to sue for discrimination on basis of race, you could now do so – a la Supreme court case regarding the New Hampshire fire fighters.
    Now that being said I’m gathering you don’t want to stay given the fact that they have not given you tenure, so why not look elsewhere? And I definitely think you should do the online freelancing of teaching. More and more places are heading in that direction allowing someone with a specialty to reach many markets rather than just the local university/college crowd.
    Good luck on your search.

    Reply
  4. Good on getting that next vine. I disagree regarding the prospect of suing one’s employer — even if one thought suing one’s potential employer was a good idea, the situation is too different, and who knows how it’d land.

    I don’t suppose you could claim our sliver of Iroquois descent….

    Reply
  5. Happycrow

     /  July 8, 2009

    Not carded, therefore can’t claim it.

    I’d actually LOVE to teach here full-time. It’s by far my favorite place of all the places I’ve taught, and as I’ve said in previous posts, the diversity issue that they’re trying to deal with is a legitimate issue. It looks like I lose, and lose unfairly BECAUSE of said issue, but I understand why it’s there, and woudln’t sue.

    If I have to move on, going in as a remote online guy definitely seems like a way to go — no bennies and mediocre pay in exchange for having almost complete control over my hours and being totally independent location-wise.

    Reply
  6. Mike

     /  July 8, 2009

    Congrats man, I am glad you are hooked up for some more time there. Others have already hit on the whole “diversity” thing so I’ll leave it. The online teaching is definately a growing field and I think you should push into it whole-heartedly.

    BTW, my next assignment is coming up shortly and if the stars aline like they are appearing to we might be closer to you than currently for the next couple of years.

    Reply
  7. You keep dropping hints that way… it’d be really wacky if it happened. Could actually rope Anna into a RIFTs game…

    Reply
  8. Mike

     /  July 9, 2009

    Well, lets say that the odds are better than even it will happen. A Rifts game would be outstanding, I think Tamara would need some help on wrapping her head around the concept though.

    Reply
  9. Kevin

     /  July 23, 2009

    Glad you got the job, Russ, but man, teaching undergraduates – I’d go with the last line of the Garden Party song.

    Hope all is well with y’all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    July 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 132,033 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
