My brain hurts: the official 2009 Project list

Translated about 15 lines of VERY STINKING OLD Hungarian academic stuff last night.

In keeping with my usual “State of the Russ Address,” …. well, screw that.  Everybody who wants to know pretty much does already.  This isn’t exactly a high-traffic blog.  

BUT… here’s my upcoming list, starting tomorrow.

1.  Go back to work, set up the Spring classes.

2.  Finish the novel — I have one week to write at least 150 pages.  Think this is likely?

3.  Finish cleaning the house and re-arranging the house in preparation for Baby.

4.  Lose my mind doing all the busy stuff that everybody does when they have their first baby — 12 diapers per day, lots of naps.

5.  Rewrite a presentation into a paper for submission in an upcoming Hundred Years’ War volume.

6.  LEARN TO READ ACADEMIC HUNGARIAN.  This is my official resolution for the year — by 2010, I will be able to do enough academic Hungarian that a typical Hungarian newspaper will no longer require me to use a dictionary.  I figure a minimum of 5000 hours per day will be required.

7.  Finish learning the Five Elements form.

8.  I’m guessing that leatherwork and armoring probably goes by the wayside this year — I have enough armor to equip a small warband, so that’s not a huge problem.  I’d love to make some more stuff, but given the cost of the material, I’m really down to needing a justification.  So if you want shit in leather this Christmas, let me know.  Besides the inevitable baby-booties cum munchkin mocs.

9.  Design and create an online History 1302 course. (For free, no less)

10.  Interview and get re-hired from temporary status to full-time.

11.  Design (in committee) a 1301 course using Civ IV: Colonization in the classroom.

No, really.  There are ways to do this and actually have it be meaningful.  It’s all about the evil questions.

12.  Make a buff coat.  I lied, I DO have one leather project that’s mandatory — I traded primo leather for a horsebow, on the condition that I used it.

13.  Oh, and if possible, talk to some canneries in Alaska, and the University there at Fairbanks.  But this is looking less and less like “this will be brilliant!” than “this is a pipe-dream I’ll have no time for.”

14.  Begin researching the history of the Neopolitan Succession Wars.

15.  Finish alterations to a leather vest (It’s made, looks spiff, too, just needs a pair of darts and some pockets).

16.  Get some sleep.

Yours truly is going to have to begin VICIOUSLY getting organized about how his week goes, if even half of this is to come off.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. If, by the way, I have forgotten something that I was talking to, say, you, Dear Reader, only days ago, please be a dear and comment. For instance, leather pants for somebody I know, when she mails me the requisite materials.

    And, um, other stuff. I’m no fan of the Cult of Covey, but routines are going to become the stuff of legend here, and Baby’s only going to enforce her part of it with Iron Half-Magyar Discipline.

    Reply
  2. Alex

     /  January 5, 2009

    Routines…and babies….whaddarya – nuts? Or do you mean legend as in fantasy?

    Seriously – every child is different, but the 1st one rarely falls into routines until 1-2 months old, and even then an illness can throw this off. Still, you could be lucky. I found with parenting you had to be flexible and take advantage of 1-2 minute time periods to get things done. Like micromanagement of your time but more creatively. My 2nd child though was a bit more amenable to routines though, but even then I still had to be on my toes.

    Not trying to be a damper, but really, don’t push yourself too hard on this as your little one will do it for you. Good luck.

    Reply
  3. Anna

     /  January 5, 2009

    I’d think he meant that routines will go outta window once she arrives…:)

    Reply
  4. a smart me would have mailed you those pants with the christmas presents… but i am not a smart me, i am a sheepish me. i am putting the pants on top of my computer as we speak – they’ll drive me nuts and I’ll have to mail them 🙂

    Reply
  5. I also have things which need to go out in the fedex, so it’s not just you. 😉

    Reply
  6. Alex

     /  January 5, 2009

    Aha! Routines would become legends.
    “Ah young one, let me tell you of the time I was able to have coffee while reading the paper each morning. And after getting 8 hours sleep each night. Heady days…”
    “Dada – play game!”
    “I think this 3am game is going to be a legend in a minute…grumble.”

    I only laugh because I’ve been there. My son’s routine used to be that he WOULD NOT go to sleep unless there was a car ride involved. Specifically he would only go to sleep in his car seat, at a time of his choosing, between ages 2-3 months. Then we would carefully creep back into the house with him in the carseat and just let him sleep there. Then he decided he was done with that and moved onto the rotating 6 hour sleep with intermittent diurnal cycles. Sleepytime roulette we called it, especially if it was your turn to get up for the night.

    Ah – you’ll do fine.

    Reply
  7. Mike

     /  January 5, 2009

    You all are scaring me something fierce. Knock it off.

    Reply
  8. 🙂

    I’m used to dealing with short sleep. The “welcome to my world” Anna’s going to be going through, on the other hand, is going to be fugly.

    FORTUNATELY, we’ve got a schedule that beats the band, and I’m working unusually-loaded hours, which will help lots.

    Reply
  9. Alex

     /  January 6, 2009

    Mike – you, scared? Come now.
    Well, here’s some more fun child facts to scare/cheer you up:
    1) Did you know that the amount of energy a child expends rivals that of olympic athletes – and – said athletes would tire rapidly if they tried to follow all the activity of a child?
    2) Babies produce some very interesting fluids out of every orifice possible. My personal favorite is the Snitpee which can happen all at once when the diaper is removed!
    2a) If you have a male child you will get hit in the face at least once with a stream of liquid no matter how careful you are.
    3) Babies produce fluids that NO stain cleaner can get rid of.
    4) Babies produce gaseous emissions that will have every male in the room laughing and or very proud.
    5) Babies produce a snooze gas that can rival that given off by cats, but only when you’re on the couch or chair with them on your chest. You WILL be comatose. More surprisingly you’ll actually feel quite rested and content afterwords.

    Good times man…good times.

    Reply
  10. Mike

     /  January 6, 2009

    You are scaring me more.

    Reply
  11. Alex

     /  January 7, 2009

    Hmmm….are the pitter patters of little imps in your future? 🙂

    Honestly, it is scary at first but so worth it.

    Reply
  12. Anna

     /  January 7, 2009

    I tell ya what, Mike–you two are totally welcome to visit us any time once the kidlet is here to see if the scare is purely theoretical…

    Reply
  13. Mike

     /  January 8, 2009

    Oh we will visiting. I actually talked to the boss today about a 4 day pass due to me having to work the Holiday Block Leave. But his wife is going to deliver his second child here in a month or so, so I have to wait until after that. Looks like very early spring possibly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,348 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
