Ahh… the inevitable post-semester whining has hit.

“I just can’t seem to figure out why I failed… blah blah blah if we need a conference to discuss, etc etc.”

No… you failed b/c you didn’t do your homework.  Rocket science, this ain’t.

Am surprised that I’ve only gotten a handful of those, however, and only a single plagiarized paper, from a dude living the thug life whose response to me checking on whether he was trying to play me like a cheap violin was ~”No offense, but I’m twenty, I don’t have time to play you.”  Which says a lot!  🙂

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I remember reading about the plagiarized paper story, which shows that we aren’t really as out of racism (stupidity) as some people think.

    I actually had my first real EoS problem, I missed by History final.

    Reply
  2. Mike

     /  December 16, 2008

    What system do you use to check for plagiarism? One of those automated ones or had you seen the paper before? The CGSC uses some giant academic database that does it automatically. If more than 20% of the paper is copied it flags it for further review. A human then reveiws it to make sure everything is footnoted correctly and if not, BING! You fail and you are counselled and you can never take the course again. And that can be fatal to your career in the army. The biggest one was a CSM going to the Sergeant Major’s Academy and he just out and out submitted someone else’s paper. Excuse: I’m a CSM, and I didn’t have time to do a paper. Well, after his demotion he had plenty of time.

    Sheesh, I just don’t get these folks. I cheated, but its okay I have an excuse. I failed can we have a meeting and negotiate over this? No idiot, you boned it and now you pay. How hard can this be?

    Reply
  3. Mike, I give a VERY unusual assignment. It is next to impossible to get away with plagiarism on my papers, b/c anything that would resemble a paper from any other paper would automatically be a “Mercy D-” candidate on grounds of “Failure to Follow Directions.”

    But every year some bumblefuck farktard decides he’s fly enough to get into a “who’s clever” contest with his professor…. ::shakes head::

    Reply
  4. Mike

     /  December 17, 2008

    That is like trying Russian Rolette with an automatic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 132,033 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
