Our Science Fiction Future: MMI Inbound!

The Mind-Machine Interface Cometh!

AS the puppy-blender is fond of saying… “faster, please.”  Weird controls that come from mechanical engineering problems are the stuff of legend.  For instance, why is it that airplanes steer backwards, compared to the way the human body moves, thus making it much more difficult to learn to handle an airplane?

Because the Wright brothers didn’t want to mess with the more complex cross-fuselage that would have allowed a more natural, shorten-the-left-to-turn-left machine interface.  MMI gets rid of all that, while hopefully allowing people with limited mobility much greater potential to get around.

Go go humanity, go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Anna

     /  November 19, 2008

    Awesome!! May I make a suggestion–can you let people know when you post a link to a video? Just for those of us who can’t see those at work? 🙂

    Reply
  2. I always thought of this type of advancement (in my usual, not specifically my industry sort of useless way) as being M.A.I (pronounced like ‘My’) for .M.achine .A.bstraction .I.ntelligence.

    Sigh, someday I will be involved with mass mad-scientist collectives or start my own. I’m so glad this has come to pass.

    Reply
  3. Anna

     /  November 20, 2008

    If you start your own, can I be your chef, living in-compound? :: bats eyes :: I also do gardening, and Russ is quite good with a shovel, too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,567 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
