Don’t do this in class.

Me:  “And if you’re curious about why we make you take this course, today is the anniversary of Kristallnacht.”

Student:  “Yes!”  *pumps fist*

Classroom:  Confused Look

Student:  “Oh.  Wait.”

Student #2:  “That’s when they murdered my family!”

Classroom:  *universal facepalm*

Me:  “So, if you don’t know what I’m talking about, you might want to Google it, so you don’t make a butt out of yourself in class like this guy.”

So:  Those who don’t know their history, are doomed to make asses out of themselves in public?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Brian

     /  November 10, 2008

    Oh. My. God.

    Reply
  2. Anna

     /  November 10, 2008

    Brian- oh hell yeah. ::headdesk ::

    Reply
  3. Mike

     /  November 10, 2008

    Holy $%^&. What an idiot. You however win the award for “and just incase he is still twitching, one more in the head” award with gold streamer.

    Twice.

    Did you ever find out what this idiot confused it with? I am betting a rock concert or something equally inane.

    Reply
  4. Alex

     /  November 10, 2008

    That event reminds me of this webcomic:
    http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2008/3/7/

    Those who forget their history likely don’t think before opening their mouths.

    Reply
  5. happycrow

     /  November 10, 2008

    Classic case of “mouth in gear, brain in neutral.” Heard something vaguely Spanish, assumed I was talking about a holiday.

    Reply
  6. Brian

     /  November 10, 2008

    Spanish?!

    Reply
  7. celogo

     /  November 10, 2008

    GOOD FOR YOU !!!!!

    Reply
  8. Awkward, but a teachable moment if there ever was one.

    Reply
  9. Mike

     /  November 11, 2008

    I second what Brian said. “Spanish?!?”

    Well, happy Veterans Day to all, even the moron.

    Reply
  10. Anna

     /  November 11, 2008

    And the same to you, Mike. I am remembering my great-grandfather on my mom’s side I’ve never known who died when he was 20 in WW1. We used to visit his grave with my grandma in the NE part of Hungary in a tiny village. It sucked for my grandma to grow up without a dad, let me tell you–her mom and dad got married just before he got drafted and taken to the front, and she was born, if I remember right, without actually knowing him.

    Reply
  11. Mike

     /  November 11, 2008

    That’s not fun, to say the least. WWI, the meat-grinder to end meat-grinders. My great-uncle Joe was in WWI, he survived due to one very smart move. When everyone else was joining a horse transportation unit, he went with a motorized one. Everyone made fun of him, including the folks back home. He drove through what was left over several days after reaching France. Gas and railroad artillery caught them in the open. I think he was the only one out of his basic training group to make it home. Here is to your great-grandfather, my great uncle Joe and everyone else who didn’t make it through to grow old.

    On that note, next time you are here I have got a song you need to hear called “Willie McBride”. Talks about this very topic actually and is quite moving.

    Reply
  12. Anna

     /  November 12, 2008

    Thanks Mike, I raise a glass of cranberry juice to that!

    Reply
  13. I know it. It’s a good one, but has to be limited doses… that sucker is weapons-grade maudlin. It’s even worse than The Band Played Waltzing Matilda.

    Reply
  14. Mike

     /  November 13, 2008

    Yeah, you listen to those two together and you want to jump off a bridge. But separate and in limited amounts, you are good.

    Maybe you should make the moron listen to both as punishment for his stupidity.

    Reply
  15. Well I suppose that this is a validation of my history education theory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,778 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
