The Price of Freedom

One of my students gets it.

We skipped over the Japanese Internment, due to time pressures, but the primary sources of the Korematsu trial are in my reader (at least, the exec. order as signed by Roosevelt, and the dissent in the Korematsu case).

One of my students, a muslim gal (and currently the best student in the class) looked at me and said, “can they still do this?”  On my saying no, that the order was repealed, she then unfocused her eyes for just a second, before looking back at me and asking “could this happen again?”

“Yes.  Scare enough people badly enough, and it could.  That is why the State of Texas makes you take this course, so that you will know that it happened, and why it happened, so that you and your kids’ generations can make sure it doesn’t happen again.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Mike

     /  June 25, 2008

    And one more light clicks on. I do wonder if she is thinking in terms of “we need to make sure that we don’t allow idiots to do stupid stuff that could provoke this reaction” or in terms of “we need to really have control of the government to prevent this” or a combo of both. Preventing idiots from doing stupid stuff is an important aspect of cultural assimilation in my book. If you don’t get that you are in a new country and that it is different than where you are from then you end with a France. But if you get that some change is required and that a little change goes both ways (not one way) then you get the melting pot.

    And I like the melting pot. It means great Kolachis in the middle of Nebraska and great brauts in central Texas along with the “we are all Americans” mindset.

    Multiculturalism gets you Beruit.

    Reply
  2. Andrew Reyna

     /  June 25, 2008

    I read a novel about EO9066.

    It’s interesting how we mirror the atrocities of our sworn enemies, and anyone who doesn’t believe that things like this can happen again will cause it happen again… and again.

    Same with the “Alien and Sedition Acts” and the McCarthy “Red Scare.”

    Speaking of France, I’m going to be staying there for a bit longer than a month starting on the 12th. I will be trying my hardest to not be a “stupid ignorant american,” as my contact there puts it. I don’t think it will be a problem.

    Reply
  3. Mike

     /  June 25, 2008

    Funny how that works. I never had any issues with the French when I visited there, but I also skipped Paris so maybe that has something to do with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,567 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
