Sick again and Hopeful News

Well, not two weeks after shrugging off one of the two bugs going around, now I’ve picked up the other one, the one that goes after your lungs.  So I’m going to intentionally make myself scarce on the ground, b/c I *don’t* want to spread this mofo, the way all my plague rats (aliter nomine, “students”) are.

In other news, I have multiple job apps in for a full-time position (and believe it or not, with an institution that actually provides tenure!): keep your fingers crossed, this would be a MAJOR increase in Happycrow’s QOL not to be commuting back and forth across 3 counties every week.

Am seriously considering not teaching Maymester, in order to finish the book my brother keeps pestering me about.  Brother, keep pestering me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Alex

     /  March 1, 2008

    Should you get such a position with tenure-track capability – I will help you write that proposal about Terra Prima (sp?) that we talked about – then you’ll have grad. students and funds to do the research during your day job.

    Reply
  2. Happycrow

     /  March 1, 2008

    Actually, it’s still comm-coll, so I won’t have either… but I might have some institutional support, anyhow…

    Reply
  3. Alex

     /  March 2, 2008

    There is a whole different pot of money for undergrad. research that is rarely tapped into. I assume that even comm-coll. have attempts at “honors” thesis right? There’s your student assistance right there. Once you start there this serves as the stepping stone to traditional 4-year college or if you’re ambitious enough – a full university.
    Still – institutional support is better than nothing.

    Reply
  4. Yeah, take all that down-time of sickness and edit your book….

    Reply
  5. Happycrow

     /  March 2, 2008

    Soon as midterms are graded, yes… turns out I officially have Influenza A, and “down time” has been…. nonproductive.

    Hydrocodone works pretty well on muscle aches, though, which is helping. Won’t touch a headache, I’m seeing.

    Reply
  6. Happycrow

     /  March 2, 2008

    oh, btw, I have it confirmed by the doctor that when one has a fever, one should NOT bundle up (was news to me), on the grounds that even if one has chills, one needs to let that heat radiate out, rather than trapping it in the body.

    It’s always the one thing you don’t know…

    Reply
  7. blackpine

     /  March 2, 2008

    Wish I would have known that. Get healthy fast and get that tenure position. Then stay skinny. Buck the tenure/fatty correlation. Oh and then beat up a freshman in one of your classes for giving you lip and put it on YouTube. I want to tell people what you look like.

    Reply
  8. blackpine

     /  March 2, 2008

    THWACK!

    “Ah’m TENURED bitch!”

    SOCK!

    “one-two-three-four-five-six-seven-eight-nine- TENured!”

    POW

    Reply
  9. You know, I could just pose in front of a camera for you… if you really wanted a picture.

    I have finally broken the fever. You know how I usually say that fevers can even be kinda fun? Not this one. That was farking miserable. Plus, we’re due for an inch of snow tonight. So, weird week.

    Reply
  10. blackpine

     /  March 4, 2008

    THe picture would be nice. It gets a bit un-texas like out here.
    I finish my thesis next month.

    Reply
  11. Happycrow

     /  March 4, 2008

    When I recover from the Tamiflu (odd. Lortab hits me no heavier than a midol does… Tamiflu knocks me on my *ass*), I’ll find somebody to beat up, then…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,350 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Arnie on “The people who shot at…
    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
