Huckabee not that bad, after all?

Heard a “traffic radio” interview with Huckabee.  I have to say I really was much more favorably impressed with what I heard this morning.  Although I doubt it will happen, I could as easily live with a Huckabee Repub candidate as I could McCain.

Chuck Norris likes, him, anyway…. but I think he’d actually be okay as a Veep, and it woudl be nice to have a FairTax supporter somewhere actually near K Street.  (I know I’m going to get plastered on that by some folks, but I still think it’s a better idea than our current mess, especially in terms of generating foreign investment).

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Alex

     /  February 22, 2008

    Huckabee is fine as a person, but has no business in FEDERAL government. He thinks, and does not disavow his statements, that evolution is incorrect in his mind. He does not believe in the whole scientific timeline of fossils and our earth and thinks creationism is the only way. And he’s not shy about indicating other religions are wrong. Basically – be baptist or be gone.

    I REALLY don’t want someone who will gut science and ensure our kids are taught federally mandates standards of ignorance. So – he is bad as president or even VP material. But I must admit he can be likeable – other than the heavy thumping that comes along with most of what he says.

    Reply
  2. I’d rather have a government preaching at me than shooting at me… now shooting AND preaching, that’s something different.

    So basically you’re proposing a religious “litmus test” for President?

    Reply
  3. Alex

     /  February 22, 2008

    No, I’m proposing that he not dictate to the rest of us what to believe. Well, that’s not fair. I don’t think he would say that we have to believe any one particular thing over another – but you would be “strongly encouraged” and expected to conform if you want government to work for you.
    I really don’t care what the religion of the president is provided:
    1) They don’t force it upon the rest of us.
    2) They don’t insist that it be THE guiding force for all their decisions (related to #1).
    Huckabee does not hide the fact that his religion would induce #2. I have no problem with evangelicals – they do wonderful work for the poor, disaffected, and now in preaching for the environment. But their zealousness can go overboard, and Huckabee’s does.

    Reply
  4. Happycrow

     /  February 22, 2008

    But *I* have a problem with the idea that people shouldn’t be able to be up-front about the idea that their decisions are based on their moral beliefs….

    Reply
  5. celogo

     /  February 22, 2008

    Find myself agreeing with HC…

    Reply
  6. Anna

     /  February 23, 2008

    Way I see it, he has the right to be upfront about it, and you have the right to decide whether you still would, or would not be able to vote for him, knowing that. And that’s my wisdom of the day…:-)

    Reply
  7. blackpine

     /  February 23, 2008

    His social conservatism doesn’t outweigh his fiscal conservatism. My litmus test on religion is based on the litmus tests, filters and conditions he puts on money from the federal government to the states. He has the right to be honest, and for me to disagree. If he was dishonest, he would have the honest hatred of myself and anyone I could convince in earshot.

    Reply
  8. Alex

     /  February 23, 2008

    On my position I have been outnumbered so I concede defeat.
    But – if he is elected (which thankfully he appears he won’t be) I strongly believe that Freedom of Religion in this country would be curtailed for those of us not of his faith. The federal government is supposed to be blind in making decisions about religion, and I seriously doubt it would not be with Huckabee.

    Reply
  9. Happycrow

     /  February 23, 2008

    I have heard lots of that…. but if it’s a choice between a guy who in theory might continue the George Bushian “theocracy” threat (which we used to hear all the time), versus a guy who already HAS tried to gut the Bill of Rights?

    But come on, Alex, outnumbered is hardly defeated… take yer swings! Hey batter batter batter…. 🙂

    Reply
  10. blackpine

     /  February 23, 2008

    Aside from that I’m Starsky and you’re Hutch. A guy who tries to gut the constitution can be stopped on Constitutional grounds with constitutional arguments in the clear light of government. A guy who wants to kill an AIDS treatment program by merely not funding it because he is resistant to empirical evidence and doesn’t like the proportion that they throw to ideologically comforting solutions is harder to deal with.

    You can stop McCain with the tools provided by law and the Constitution. You can’t stop Huckabee because his actions will be along the lines of withholding and influence from office.

    [ALex is taking a beating in there! BUT WAIT! FROM THE LOCKERS! IT’S BLACKPINE! HE’S IN THE RING WITH A CHAIR! HE’S CLEARED THE RING! IT’S ALEX AND BLACKPINE IN THE SQUARED CIRCLE LADIES AND GENTLEMEN!]

    Reply
  11. Alex

     /  February 23, 2008

    So Happycrow – sounds like your solution is the one I came to quite awhile ago – vote for Obama.
    And Blackpine, you see exactly why I don’t want Huckabee in office or anywhere near it.

    Reply
  12. blackpine

     /  February 24, 2008

    That’s why I got your back, Brotherrrr!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    February 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,457 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
