Gov. Perry: Let Happycrow defend those kids.

Well, sort of.

But, working within a Federally Mandated Victim Zone, I can tell you that a college campus is too complex, and has too many odd corridors, for a pair of cops to get to within time to save anybody’s life if some deranged nutbag went at it.  And although the cops I’ve met on the campuses where I teach are great guys, they’re all in the middle-aged “I’ve signed on for a lighter-duty assignment so I can help people all day, because I’m not getting around as fast as I used to” category.  If some nutbag decided to come after my students, it’d all be long over by the time these guys could respond.

(With the clear and blatant exception of one campus, where we clearly have a vet, who I’ve seen repeatedly doing things like checking trash cans, etc.  He I can see matching or beating me in an impromptu emergency sprint…)

Folks who are willing to go through the training, and willing to submit to the State’s rectal exam, are generally not going to go causing any problems, and are much less likely to be the folks who go “sproing” upstairs.  The 673 licenses revoked out of 260K licenses issued is about what I recall from the instructor in the class… and folks who go sproing?  Well, once you’ve decided you’re going to go murder people, I’m guessing they’re not worried about firearm laws, or the speed limit, or any other component of civilized society, either.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yup. And… yup.

    Reply
  2. Mike

     /  May 1, 2007

    I agree, “Yups” all around.

    Reply
  3. Yup

    Reply
  4. Steph

     /  May 1, 2007

    Ummm… YUP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,570 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
