The Anchoress on Pacifism

Moments after having given some pretty decent combat knife advice… 

Buster’s initial reaction was that Mom was kind of a scary broad, but a few minutes later he said, “teach me that stuff…”

No, I don’t intend to train my son to the blade, nor do I recommend anyone else do it.

Well, the Anchoress’ site won’t let me log in or comment, but the up and down of the matter is, she should teach her son these kinds of things.  People who have gone “sproing” upstairs may be having “27 ninjas” fantasies (hat tip: Marc MacYoung, whose self-defense books I thoroughly recommend, especially for teenagers), or even “I’m going up into the clock tower” fantasies, but they’re guaranteed not having fantasies about trying to draw down on a totally harmless substitute school teacher, only to get disarmed and knocked through a wall… or killed outright by a 105-lb stick-thin gal who’s literature instructor.

And maybe “Nutbag of the week” would have been protected against that initial stab by his bulletproof vest.  Heck, I know my pocketknife’s not as sharp as it should be… because I use it for everything under the sun, rather than keeping it as a reserved weapon. 

But if you have a clue, you have options, and if that option is to take one man’s life in order to save 30 others, well, that sucks, but I think God will understand.

Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Anna

     /  April 18, 2007

    You’ll need to register first on her site I think.

    Reply
  2. Zathras

     /  April 18, 2007

    I thought he meant he had been blocked :-!

    Reply
  3. No, I doubt I’ve been blocked: I’m not that important, and hopefully not that irritating! But the Wp login isn’t working.

    Reply
  4. Anna

     /  April 18, 2007

    I guess you just need to register separately for her site, since it has its own domain as opposed to a wordpress extension. There is a register button on the page where you would log in.

    Reply
  5. Steph

     /  April 18, 2007

    I think this has been one of the more interesting lessons of raising a passel o’ young ‘uns. They will be agressive with anything, unless you teach them the many other uses of the thing.

    My toddler son was wielding a butterknife for 10 seconds at a restaurant last week. The waitress said, “Oh, no, that’s really dain-ger-ous, litttle man!” (as Daddy was taking the butterknife away.) Then the son picked up the fork. Waitress said, “That’s better!” Until he brandished it, at which point I said, “Oh, no, the forks are 10 times worse!!!”

    Reply
  6. I guess the alternate viewpoint would be something like the David Bowie video I watched last night on youtube.

    I’m Afraid of Americans http://youtube.com/watch?v=piu61KjP9LE

    Reply
  7. Steph

     /  April 18, 2007

    I’m sure it has occurred to all that her 17 year old son may be looking forward to university in the not too distant future.

    Seems a normal reflex to me to try to be mentally, physically prepared for an attack like VT, cause God knows these things are coming out of nowhere.

    Reply
  8. I don’t know if you can be ready. I’ve been at gunpoint and stayed totally frosty. I’ve heard things break in the night and felt like a total prey item. (Of course, I was mostly still asleep…)

    You just do what you can and have to do, when you need to. And you either make it, or you don’t, or like the Holocaust-surviving Professor this last week, you have your apotheosis moment and become a hero.

    Reply
  9. Steph

     /  April 19, 2007

    Yuppers

    Reply
  10. Anna

     /  April 19, 2007

    He sure knew what it meant for people just standing by doing nothing while other people die.

    Reply
  11. Mike

     /  April 19, 2007

    Yeah, that’s the sad truth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    April 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 131,923 hits
  • Recent Comments

    Cults and Context |… on So, about that Bruce Jenner…
    Cults and Context |… on Yes, I AM, in fact, looking at…
    Cults and Context |… on How The Internet Says “D…
    Kat Laurange on Hungarian Military Sabre …
    Kat Laurange on Rose Garden! The Home Edi…
