WordPress vs. Blogger: review after one week

Okay, so I've ported my blog to WordPress after nearly despairing at Blogger's chronic instability.

WordPress contra Blogger, what do I think?

What's good about Blogger?  Well, basically, the ability to put javascript buttons into your profile, and the ability to muck with your template file in order to fiddle with colors, etcetera.  For instance, I love this template in general, but I don't like the fuzzy artistic thing along the top. And I'd like to be able to insert a picture under the header.  I can do that in Blogger.  I can't even start that in WordPress unless I get my own server, learn how to run it, and then go through multiple hours of self-install WordPress from the ground up.

What's good about WordPress?  Aside from not being able to link my images right (for the Life, Liberty, Property community — I'm supposed to link with an image) and the javascript problem (which is a security thing), I'm very pleased with the Categories feature in general.  I like a 3-column template, but there are several in 2-column that are VERY nice, as well.  The Dashboard is also well done.

Can't stand how they handle links, though.  It's worthless unless I want a huge, disordered list or want to embed the links under categories on display, a process I didn't manage to figure out.  Fortunately, as you can see from my link farm, there's an easy workaround built right in.

One huge difference, however, is service.  I had two related technical goofs this week.  They were courteously fixed within 6 hours, with very fast answers to questions on the WP forums.

Try getting that out of Blogger.

So, so far, I'm happy with this.  It doesn't let me do everything I want (for that, I'd have had to bug the hell out of my buddy Joe the Troll, and I don't want to do that), but it lets me do most of it, and with a high degree of ease. 

Update: there was one complaint about color. It is theoretically possible for me to manually specify a text color for the posts that might be easier to read. However, it would be a manual adjust. So if I were going to try that, I'd need an artist type to suggest a color that would be easy on the eyes against this kind of background.

I think I may have stumbled on a way of selling libertarian ideas to the left.

If egalitarianism is good, and if fiscal equality is good… how about political equality?

It's got to percolate some, but I think I can make some arguments that might turn KOS' latest "libertarian Democrats" from a theoretical nonesuch into a theoretical possibility.

  • Featured Eyeballs

  • What’s today again?

    June 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 124,544 hits
  • Recent Comments

    0jr on Batshit-Crazy in Budapest
    0jr on Batshit-Crazy in Budapest
    Yet More Infantilizi… on Everything you know is….…
    Yet More Infantilizi… on Dread for the Future: is it Cl…
    Yet More Infantilizi… on How to make Tedium rock
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 220 other followers